Series: Kevyn and Me – Making my way through Making Faces

I’ve always loved makeup.  In Jr. High, my friend and I were probably the first ones in our class who began to experiment with makeup (although the caked on blue eye shadow was NOT the look we should have been going for.)  Then as I grew out of the brown lip liner/frost lipstick phase, into the purple lip liner phase, and now to nude lip liner – who knew it goes with everything?! My own makeup style was basic, a few chances here and there, but I didn’t possess any real skills.

It’s not that I was terrible with makeup. I just knew enough to get by, not look like a clown, and not really draw too much attention to myself. I got lost somewhere between “good enough” and “I don’t give a fuck” when it came to my makeup choices. As I entered my 30’s, I started caring less about what people thought, and now with Pinterest and sites like reddit.com I was being exposed to a whole world of makeup that I didn’t see in my little bubble at home.

I started reading online tutorials, Wayne Goss of GossMakeupArtist on Youtube taught me so much about technique and opened my eyes to different ways of doing things. In one of his videos he mentioned Kevyn Aucoin. I have never heard of Kevyn or his products. Doing a little research all kinds of makeup artists were talking about his book, Making Faces and how it was a must for anyone who wanted to know more about makeup or become an artist.

Legendary

Legendary

I’ve read the book, I’ve marveled at the photos. And now I’m ready to tackle changing my own mind and maybe YOUR mind about ways to use makeup. I’m starting at the beginning and will be documenting my take on each of his gorgeous makeups he does on famous faces. I might not get it 100% right but that’s not the point. The point is learning and challenging myself when it comes to makeup. Stay tuned!

XOXO

The Dish

Leave a Reply

