Kevyn and Me: Simplicity

P1040558

simplicity… we’ll see about that.

The best place to start is at the beginning. On page 48 of Making Faces is the first full face instruction. Kevyn notes that any of these looks can be modifired to suit your taste or skin tone. This book was written in 1997, so its reasonable to think that some of the looks might be a little dated, but the basic principles apply.

Fresh faced and ready to go.

Fresh faced and ready to go.

Yeah… so about once a month I get these fun breakouts. Some of you can relate, I’m sure. But this is the face I started with today. We are going to sparingly (ha! ha-ha, ha… ha.) apply concealer to even out the skin tone and remove redness.

Even though my expression says "not amused" I'm having a good time here.

Step 1: Apply concealer sparingly

So the next step is to apply a soft brown creme eye shadow. I don’t have creme eye shadow. I have a knock off UD Naked palette made by Makeup Academy called Undressed (which I love), that’ll do. I selected the matte medium brown shade. Top row of the palette, 3rd from the left.

Apply to the crease

Step 2. Soft brown eye shadow to crease from inner to outer corner.

I chose a Stila mascara I had from some gift with purchase. It was nice and light, gave a soft eyelash look that I think works for a look called “simplicity.”

Very subtle. My camera can't pick it up.

Step 3: Curl lashes and apply light coat of mascara

For the blush I have one by E.L.F. that is a very pretty pink. The book calls for liquid blusher, so I think it fits the bill.

Step 4: Pink liquid blush to cheeks, temples, chin and lips.

Step 4: Pink liquid blush to cheeks, temples, chin and lips.

Looking less dead! PROGRESS! The last step is to use a flesh toned lip pencil to refine the lip shape, you can fill it in if you want.

Step 5: Flesh toned lip pencil. I also added a little lip balm.

Step 5: Flesh toned lip pencil. I also added a little lip balm.

Done-zo. Remember this very much a no-makeup, makeup look. Its your bare face but slightly improved. I can see using this look on the weekends or running to the grocery store. Let me know if you try this!

Finished look

Finished look

My weapons.

My weapons.

Products/Tools:

TARTE Amazonian Clay Concealer Brush Bamboo Handle

SOHO eyeshadow brush

Sigma Blending – E25

Stila Mascara (discontinued)

Beautique eye brow pencil in Dark Blonde

MaxFactor nude lip pencil (Dollar tree!!)

MUA Undressed palette

Laura Mercier Secret Camouflage SC-1

Yes To Carrots Lip Butter, Berry

e.l.f. HD Blush, Headliner, 0.34 Ounce

Leave a Reply

