Kevyn and Me: Neutrals

Neutral looks are nice. Sometimes I don’t want to look like a total skank, so I go for a neutral look. Its good for meeting grandma or when you want to fool guys into thinking you don’t wear makeup. Seriously though, after going all out its nice to do something that looks more basic, even if you are using JUST as many products as a dramatic look.

Naomi Campbell, my muse.

Naomi Campbell, my muse.

Guess what!? Not wearing the hair turban today!

Naomi Campbell, I am not.

Naomi Campbell, I am not.

Time to break out the foundation, now the instruction actually calls for a warm-toned foundation. I’m not sure why you would want to do that if you were cool toned, but I say use your normal foundation and bronze yourself up if you want. We don’t want any foundation masks-o-orange here.

I'm wearing ALL THE FOUNDATION

Step 1: Foundation under eyes, around the mouth, center of the forehead and down the bridge of your nose. This is pre-blending. Step 2: apply translucent powder.

I did blend in my foundation and make sure all my boo-boos were covered, then I added the face powder. We don’t need a picture of that, right? Ok, straight to the brows.

Step 3: Groom and fill in those brows. Try to not make them look like caterpillars.

Step 3: Groom and fill in those brows. Try to not make them look like caterpillars.

That scary dude-ish picture above is something that I probably shouldn’t plaster all over the internet. But I will, because I care about the process and showing the ugly, ugly steps toward looking awesome.

P1040590

Step 4: Apply a neutral brown eye shadow to the inner eye, outer corner, bottom lash line and a little on the inner corner. Step 5: Pale flesh toned eye shadow down the center.

Then we blend, and we apply more as needed, blend again, so it doesn’t look patchy and is smooth like buttah.

Step 6: Curl those lashes and apply some brown-black mascara.

Step 6: Curl those lashes and apply some brown-black mascara.

The next step is to use a blush brush and use apricot blush onto the cheekbones, chin, sides of neck and temples as well as the hairline. I used a blush that barely showed up on me. So not sure if it was too light or the product itself. So yes, I do have blush on, but its not the intended result. We’ve accepted this, and have moved on.

P1040595

Step 8: Apply a neutral lip liner and fill in.

Step 8-9: Apply a neutral lip liner and fill in. Then apply a neutral pinky-beige lip color. Blot/reapply... rinse, repeat.

Step 9: Then apply a neutral pinky-beige lip color. Blot/reapply… rinse, repeat. Step 10: use a lighter shade of neutral lip color and apply to the center with your finger tip.

By using a darker lip pencil, followed by a lighter lipstick, followed by an even lighter lipstick (or gloss, whatever you want, its your world) you get a 3D lip effect and is my favorite way to wear a neutral lip. If I don’t do something simliar to this with the “nude” colored lipsticks, I usually look fresh out the morgue.

Finished look. Smile not included.

Finished look. Smile not included.

Different lighting + forced happiness.

Different lighting + forced happiness.

Products:

L’oreal Visible Lift Smooth Makeup, Absolute Nude Beige

Urban Decay Naked Palette (I used Buck and Virgin)

Beautique Lip Pencil Natural

MAC Cremesheen Lipstick Creme D’ Nude (main lip color)

BH Cosmetics 32 Color Lip Palette (the lighter colored neutral in the center of my lip)

NYX Cosmetics Eyebrow Kit With Stencil Set, Blondes (I used the auburn color)

One thought on “Kevyn and Me: Neutrals

Leave a Reply

